Peru Center of Excellence


For an overview of GVN Centers of Excellence, click here.

Instituto de Medicina Tropical “Alexander von Humboldt” IMTAvH of the Universidad Peruana Cayetano Heredia (UPCH)

Universidad Peruana Cayetano Heredia
Av. Honorio Delgado 430
San Martín de Porres, Peru

Center Director: Dr. Eduardo Gotuzzo

Co-Director: Dr. Theresa Ochoa W.

Member researchers:

Members of the HTLV & Other Virus Units: Fernando Mejia, Elsa Gonzalez, Martin Montes, Carolina Alvarez, Martin Tipismana, Arturo Hernandez, Mirò Rodriguez, Francisco Bravo, Oscar Gayoso, Michael Talledo, Giovanni López, Francesca Falconì, Angèlica Terashima, Marco Canales, Yessica Ramos, Miguel Cabada, Humberto Guerra, Juan Echevarrìa, Larissa Otero, Carlos Seas

International Partners: Kristien Verdonck, Annemie Vandamme, Juan Carlos Ramos, Glen Barber, Kazuhiro Morishita

HIV/AIDS Researchers: Catherine Mc Gowan, Pedro Cahn, Joe Zunt, Martín Rodriguez

Arbovirus Researchers: Janes Félix, Thomas Jaenisch

Instituto de Medicina Tropical “Alexander von Humboldt” IMTAvH of the Universidad Peruana Cayetano Heredia (UPCH): The Institute of Tropical Medicine "Alexander von Humboldt" of the Universidad Peruana Cayetano Heredia, founded in 1968 by Dr. Hugo Lumbreras, is the leading research center in infectious and tropical diseases in Peru. We are a multidisciplinary Institute specialized in infectious and tropical diseases, with global leadership that conducts innovative research; promotes public policies and technology transfer, contributing to the country’s development. We believe that delivering patient care is insufficient to fight against tropical diseases; therefore, we also prioritize training, research and clinical care. This thorough approach has allowed the continuous interaction of physicians and researchers towards prevention, control, the development of diagnostic tests, molecular biology and global health, prioritizing remote rural populations. Currently we have 8 research groups and 12 laboratories (complete list seen below) which bring together faculties from the School of Medicine, Science, Public Health, Veterinary medicine, Dentistry and Nursing which collaborate with national and international institutions in the development of teaching and training activities on infectious and tropical diseases.