Board of Directors/Advisors

Board of Directors

Tim Moynahan

Timothy Moynahan, Esq.
The Moynahan Law Firm, LLC
Chairman, Board of Directors, GVN

Dear Friends and Colleagues,
As the world becomes smaller, travel and migration are impacting our populations with new viral threats. SARS, HIV, MERS, Ebola, Influenza, Hepatitis, and the new concerns of Dengue, Chikungunya and most recently Zika are now well-known viruses that we are painfully aware of due to the loss and suffering which result. The need for early detection, vaccines and treatment have never been more urgent. The Global Virus Network (GVN) has harnessed eminent leaders in science, and is partnering with businesses, governments and philanthropic organizations to build capabilities in our global “Centers of Excellence” which monitor, research and develop counter-measures to defend our communities.
I am honored and humbled to lead this exemplary team on our upward trajectory to deal incisively and effectively with emerging and existing viral dangers. My focus is to forge the necessary alliances and secure the funding critical to progressing this important work, and I look forward to a year resounding with landmarks in science and success for GVN.

Timothy C. Moynahan, Esq.
Board of Directors

Board of Directors

Mathew L. Evins
Treasurer & Secretary, GVN Board
Chairman, Evins Ltd.

Daniel J. Arbess
CEO/CIO–Xerion Investments LLC


Lawrence Blatt, PhD
Global Head of Infectious Diseases, Janssen Pharmaceuticals,
President and CEO, Alios Biopharma.

Marc Bonneville, DVM
Scientific & Medical Director, Fondation Mérieux

Tomas Cihlar, PhD

Vice President, Virology, Gilead Sciences, Inc.

Robert Gallo

Robert C. Gallo, MD
Director Institute of Human Virology, GVN
Co-Founder and International Scientific Advisor


William Hall MD, PhD
Professor in the School of Medicine and Medical Science at University College Dublin.

Liqun (Henry) Huang

Chairman, Zhenghao Global Public Health Promotion and Innovation Center, and Chairman, Zhenghao Holding Group, China

Lan Kennedy-Davis
Partner with RumbergerKirk, P.A.

Yang Liu, Ph.D.
Chief Executive Officer and Chief Scientific Officer, OncoImmune

Roscoe M. Moore, JR., D.V.M., Ph.D., D.Sc.
President, PH RockWood Corporation, Rockville and Pretoria
Former Assistant United States Surgeon General and
Rear Admiral, United States Public Health Service (Retired)

G. Richard Olds, MD, MACP
President of St. George’s University in Grenada

Peter Palese, PhD
Horace W. Goldsmith Professor and Chair Department of Microbiology. Professor, Department of Medicine Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai.


Pierluigi Petrone
CEO of Petrone Group.

David Scheer
President of Scheer & Company, Inc.


Raymond Schinazi, PhD, Hon DSc
Professor of Pediatrics and Director
Laboratory of Biochemical Pharmacology, Emory University

Yiming Shao, MD, PhD
Chief Expert on AIDS, Chinese Centre for Disease Control and Prevention
Vice Chair, Chinese Microbiology Society

Quangqi Tian
President and Founder of Sino Invest Limited

Pan Zheng, M.D., Ph.D.
Founder, Senior Vice President and Chief Medical Officer, OncoImmune

Senior Advisors

Vint Cerf, PhD
Vice President and Chief Internet Evangelist Google

Jose Esparza, MD, PhD
Past President of the GVN

Glenda Gray, MBBCh, FCPAED
President, Medical Research Council of South Africa

William Haseltine, PhD
President ACCESS Health International, Inc

Shyam Kottilil, MBBS, PhD
Senior Advisor on India
Institute of Human Virology
University of Maryland School of Medicine

Wuyuan Lu, PhD
Senior Advisor on China
Institute of Human Virology
University of Maryland School of Medicine

 Kathleen M. Neuzil, MD, MPH, FIDSA
Director, Center for Vaccine Development, University of Maryland School of Medicine

MV Pillai, MD
Professor, Oncology, Thomas Jefferson University
Chair, Oncology, Aster MedCity

Stanley Plotkin, PhD
Emeritus Professor University of Pennsylvania

Nora Samaranayake
Senior Advisor on Public Relations
Institute of Human Virology
University of Maryland School of Medicine

Carla Frances Seaga, B.A., (Hons.), M.P.A.
Executive Director
UWI Development & Endowment Fund (UWIDEF)